HSBC Canada Men’s Sevens Bowl Winners

Home Team Wins HSBC Canada Men’s Sevens

Canada - Derek StevensIt was a big day in Canadian rugby as Canada’s Men’s Sevens Team won the Bowl Title at the hugely exciting inaugural HSBC Canada Men’s Sevens on Sunday night at BC Place in Vancouver. Canada’s team took on some outstanding international squads including, Brazil, England and France, to finish the tournament with an impressive 5-1 overall record. A tough fought 19-17 victory over France earned Canada the title. Earlier in the day the Canadian squad defeated Brazil 19-0 and they also beat the British side 17-7.

Day Two at the inaugural HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series tournament on Canadian soil had drama aplenty and it was fitting that a late converted score would send the thousands of supporters in attendance at BC Place home delighted. Bowl victory means Canada picked up not only the silverware but also eight points on the Series on a very memorable weekend.

Canada’s head coach Liam Middleton said, “I can’t criticize our performances. We were very consistent. You win five of your six games in any World Series tournament it’s an exceptional achievement. They’ve shown great character and ability this weekend. What a phenomenal tournament. Tournament’s are made by spectators and this is the best crowd we’ve ever seen on the World Series. This has been the best tournament in the series so far.”

Nathan Hirayama - Derek Stevens

Canada’s Roster for the HSBC Canada Sevens (Name, club, hometown):

Admir Cejvanovic – (Burnaby Lake RFC/BC Bears) Burnaby, BC
Sean Duke – (Unattached) Vancouver, BC
Mike Fuailefau – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
Lucas Hammond – (Toronto Nomads/Ontario Blues) Toronto, ON
Nathan Hirayama – (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Richmond, BC
Harry Jones – (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) West Vancouver, BC
Pat Kay – (Unattached) Duncan, BC
Phil Mack – (James Bay AA/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
John Moonlight – Captain (James Bay AA/Ontario Blues) Pickering, ON
Conor Trainor – (UBCOB Ravens/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC
Sean White – (James Bay AA/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
Adam Zaruba – (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC

Unavailable due to injury:

Phil Berna – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
Nanyak Dala – (Castaway Wanderers/Prairie Wolf Pack) Saskatoon, SK
Mike Scholz – (Castaway Wanderers/Ontario Blues) Oakville, ON
Liam Underwood – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Toronto, ON